Priests’ Picnic 2014

Plaza1

We had a great time Friday during our annual priests’ picnic. Friday, June 27 was the Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, a day when priests around the world get together or make a special day of retreat. We had a great time sharing our fraternity as brother priests. Looking around I saw the different ages, the different nationalities, the different kinds of parishes represented and united in one heart of faith. It was especially a blessing to see Bishop Cummins there, and moreover Msgr. Ray Breton, who has incurable cancer, and who was in the center of everybody’s love.

Bishop Cummins is my father in faith, because he baptized me. It was great hearing him saying: “You know guys, for those of you looking for retirement, let me tell you something: it is overrated”. That is truly the heart of a priest.

Bishop Cummins is my father in faith, because he baptized me. It was great hearing him tell us: “You know guys, for those of you looking forward to retirement, let me tell you something: it is overrated.”  That is truly the heart of a priest.

Msgr. Ray Breton, seated center

Msgr. Ray Breton, seated center

DSC_0288

It was a very happy day to celebrate being a priest. Celebrations like this remind me of what St. John Vianney, the patron saint of priests once said: “The priesthood is the love of the heart of Jesus.”

Pictures courtesy of Fr. Benedict Pradit